News, trust and “truthiness”

After reading several of my classmate’s blogs, I have come across three that I agree with and have chosen to review. In my blog I had said that culture jamming was an effective way for people to receive everyday news while including some comic relief. My opinion has expanded after reading other students entries.

The first blog I would like to discuss is Justin Gideon’s. He wrote “Some people, including myself, use this as their source for news. I am more inclined to watch it because watching the regular 6 o’clock news can get extremely boring and with the satirical shows I get a laugh while still getting caught up to date with the news”. I believe that I fit into this category of “some people” because I too find it to be an easier and more interesting way to gain knowledge about the latest in society. From my understanding Justin perceives this form of media just as reliable as any other source. http://justingmsblog.blogspot.ca/2013/11/is-fake-news-real-news.html  

The second blog, I found to be interesting was written by Joan Amanambu. Joan wrote “I would say it is the real news because nothing much is changed, its just their opinions that are expressed and put in a comical way just to make viewers enjoy news better. They are getting the same news just in a more fun way; this tends to really interests teenagers”. I agree with this statement because it is definitely a way to include and appeal to a younger demographic which is important because most youth today don’t feel the need to know about what is happening in our world. I also agree that it is important to include that some of the material just might be information that had been interpreted through the presenter and then expressed to the viewer, which means it might not be the 100% truth. http://amanambujoan.wordpress.com/2013/11/22/blog-entry-4/

Lastly I would like to discuss the entry written by Christine Merrill. The two I wrote about above seem to be similar; Christine’s is one that challenges them. She wrote “the forms of media today fight against the typical political and demographic practices in their methods of conveying news and information…It forces an audience to see the world in a different light that may be comical, but isn’t always reflective of the truth or reality of the situation being reported.” She notices and accepts that these shows and other types of media can be comical and popular however she disagrees with them being effective. After reading her blog I would say that she doesn’t find it reliable, when being compared to the typical news or radio etc. that is given to us. http://christinemerrill2.wordpress.com/2013/11/22/is-the-fake-news-the-real-news/

 After reading the textbook along with reading my classmates opinions, I believe that there doesn’t have to be any implications when consuming this satirical news reportage. As long as the public knows this might not be the most reliable source and that it is used more for their entertainment rather than expressing the truth. 

Leave a comment