Demonstrable Demographics

After reading several of my classmate’s blogs, I came to the conclusion that I agree with the majority of the entries that were given. In this response I will discuss three entries written by my fellow classmates. I wrote my most recent blog about a Revlon mascara advertisement, which is why I find the first students’ ad so relatable because she also wrote about an ad done by Revlon. Christine’s ad criticizes Revlon’s attempt at selling natural beauty. I agree that this ad struggles with this because I find it impossible for girls to be displaying their natural beauty when covered in make up. In her blog she explains how the ad is done poorly because it is an unachievable look for the average woman. However in today’s society women will buy these products in order to attract men and appear as though they have flawless skin. Which is why Revlon is a successful company, no matter how unrealistic their advertisements.  http://christinemerrill2.wordpress.com/2013/11/08/what-in-the-hail/

 The second blog that I will review was written by Kendra. She examined the product No-No and the companies attempt at advertising. I find it hard not to agree with her when she explains how the company is a success because in society it is just normal for women to be hairless. There is no question that women are viewed in all media and in everyday life as being hairless and smooth. If women have hair in certain spots on their bodies it is almost seen as unhygienic. This ad clearly is a success because women will go to great lengths to attract the opposite sex. I am a young women and this ad speaks to me because I know that there can be consequences for having hair other than on my head. I think this blog gives a clear and honest review for the No-No advertisement. http://kendrajss.blogspot.ca

 The last blog to be discussed was written by Liam. I chose to write about this one because as a female I tend to focus on the advertisements only directed towards my demographic. However this blog gave me great incite on the pressure that males can feel because of the media. Not only do women feel the pressure to be beautiful and have perfect bodies, but men also have to fit these impracticable stereotypes. Not very many of my male friends have time to work out and eat well all the time. It is unfair that the media has these ideas of how we should look and what our lifestyles should be like. However I do understand that this ad would be a success in an athletic store because guys would be motivated achieve those bodies and get the false idea that if they buy Nike’s clothes, they will attain that look and start a new healthy life.

 http://dunsey.wordpress.com/2013/11/08/what-the-hail/

In the end I think most companies know how to be successful through advertisements because people are paid to know what the consumers want. Which means that even if my classmates or myself do not agree with their approach, does not mean that it isn’t effective. 

Leave a comment